As Seen on TV

Easy Feet.

Wow – what will they think of next? I mean really? I happened to catch the commercial for these yesterday and could not believe my eyes. Actually, it’s not even the product that made me so incredulous. It was the commercial.

As someone with a bit (not much) of marketing/advertising experience, I can say with full authority, this commercial was like watching a train wreck. It was so bad – but you just can’t tear yourself away. At no time, however, did it occur to me that this might be a product I can’t live without.

So the idea is that you pour liquid soap over the straps that cross the tops of your feet. Then, it trickles down and as you kick your legs, the soap suds’ up and cleans your feet. There’s a pumice stone on each heel of the shoe. (How in the hell are you supposed to use that on any other part of your foot if you can’t reach your feet?) Okay, so this is a typical “as seen on TV” type product – right up there with Ginsu knives… so get ready for it… yes, they said it! “But wait – there’s more!” (Actually, that’s one of my favorite lines when uttered with the appropriate inflection of sarcasm.) You can get TWO pairs of shoes!

I was so annoyed by this commercial that I had to check out the website.

Copied from their website:

OFFER DETAILS:
Each Buy One, Get One FREE set includes two Easy Feet shoes for only $14.99 plus $7.99 for each shoe. This offer is covered by a 30 day money back guarantee less S&H.

And then: “Just pay separate  $7.99 S&H for each easy feet shoe.”

Ummmm… So, you get 2 pair for $14.99 but you have to pay in excess of $32 for S&H? Wow – not reading the fine print will really screw you on this one!

I’m not entirely sure why this ad really stuck in my craw, but it’s been bugging me for a fill 24 hours. So now it can bug you too! It’s the season of sharing, right?

Leave a Reply

