THAT Friend…

Maybe a good kick is in order?

Is it just me, or does everyone attract jerky friends? There’s one friend I’m thinking of here – ultra-competitive and egotistical pretty much sum her up. It’s so strange because she can be a ton of fun and very caring.  

Back story: We got to know her a few years ago when she started dating a friend of ours. They’ve been married for a while now. At the time, her goofiness that placed her at the center of attention was chalked up to her being out of her element and with only her boyfriend as someone she knew well. WRONG!

She’s always right. Always. Doesn’t matter if she doesn’t know “jack” about the topic, she’ll argue to the death, until you can provide PROOF she’s wrong. Then she just shrugs it off like it was no big deal. Nevermind the gaping, bloody wounds. Problem is, she’s doing this more and more. She has to compete for time, attention, the most friends, the best appliances, the best brand name bags, etc. Her insecurities are so huge that her attempts to cover them with material diversions is going to put them into bankruptcy (not to mention her hubby’s issues – which I won’t even go into). And then she has the gall to bitch about their financial status. If anyone mentions these splurges, she becomes defensive and rationalizes. It’s crazy really.

Your everyday pack of ravenous wolves

They’ve got pets too. Good ones. Unfortunately, they are often not home at chow time and they call “favors” on friends and family. Just yesterday I got a call ONE HOUR before chow time. While I wanted to say “go fly a kite”, I pictured the happy faces of the sweet pets. It’s not their fault their people parents suck. Why should they go hungry? I couldn’t do it. I’m such a sucker for animals. Maybe I should have stopped that sentence at “sucker”.  After all, I’m the dependable one. I’m always here (no job, no life). So just default to me. It’s no big deal, right?

Being “friends” with her is becoming much more trouble than it’s worth. But I just can’t break up with her on a post-it…..

My hubby says I should have ignored the call yesterday, and if she called my cell, lie and say I was too far away. I can’t do that. One because it’s blatantly lying (NOT that he’s usually comfortable with that sort of thing) and two, because the poor animals. I know they won’t starve by the time someone gets home to feed them. But they honestly do know what time it is, and wolf down their food if it’s late.

So a while back, my hubby had some stuff stored at her hubby’s storage. He made a crack about charging rent. My hubby retorted with “right after we charge you for feeding your pets!” (Good one, hubs!) I didn’t know about the exchange, and “friend” offered to pay me for my “trouble” in feeding the pets. I felt awkward by that, so I declined. She was insistent on doing “something” for me. We finally settled on a mani/pedi. It was really nice. Any chance I get to get my toes did makes me happy. Especially if someone else is footing the bill. I found out after the fact about the traded barbs and it really soured me on the little indulgence. AND the fact she didn’t fess up about it all. (At the time I was caring for the pets at least three times a week.)

I’m just SO not competitive (at least not the way she is). I don’t WANT to be the center of attention in a room full of people. I might want to kick your ass every week at Bejeweled Blitz though. But that doesn’t even really carry bragging rights. I don’t need the newest, biggest, best of whatever. If what I’ve got works, then I’m good! I’m worn out even from thinking about her in this post! And to think, I haven’t even seen her in days. Hmph. I need a break.

11 Responses to THAT Friend…

  1. izziedarling says:

    Turn around very slowly and walk away from trainwreck couple. If you want my opinion, which, of course, you didn’t ask for. But I’ve found this type of person will gobble you and all your kindness up and spit you out.

  2. redriverpak says:

    Scream hysterically and obscenely at her, in front of a lot of people, and then apologize…saying that you suffer from “Tourettes Syndrome”…. Trust me, she won’t want to risk setting you off again….

  3. spirit2go says:

    You do got yourself a challenge, there. Was just talking about people like her today – it takes a giant peach of a person to remain her friend. A one-upper is a real difficult person to be around. Selfish- I think. And their ego is so huge – even if you sat down, and spoke directly from your heart to hers about what causes you to pull back from her – I think it would be just a big ole line of DEFENSE from her. They just don’t get it!

  4. Miss Nikki says:

    I hate her already. I knew her (somebody just like her) for years, then when I started to limit what I could do for her she sat me down and boldly told me how selfish and egotistical I was. She – SHE – broke up with me – ME. Hmm. And never ever did she feel any pangs of regret. I was the bitch? because I no longer crawled on all fours for her?

    I agree with izziedarling… Ditch the bitch! (Izzie was nicer about it)

  5. we must have the same friend. Mine knows everything about everything and will go out of her way to prove you wrong. Also,anything she reads becomes the word of God and can usually be easily discredited, but she is right, come hell or high water. It makes me want to sink to her level and prove her wrong!

  6. amazing post! we moved into a 5th floor apartment from a ground floor apartment and our special (also rescue) dog who did not understand the elevator for the longest time.we’re pretty sure he thought it was a magic box that just opened and shut with different things outside.once he got in the elevator as another dog was down the hall. when we got to the fifth floor he sprinted out to see the dog and then was super confused at where said dog had gone… a year later he’s figured it out.your dog related posts make my day!

Leave a Reply

