My ADD Week

What a strange few days I’ve had. I feel like I’ve been really busy, but with spurts of serious laziness.

First, hubby was on a business trip from Tuesday and returned Saturday. Friday night he called me to let me know he had crashed the bike he was riding. Thankfully he’s ok. He was wearing the best gear available and simply lowsided. The bike, however, highsidedย after they separated, and was damaged pretty much all over. With some “MacGuyvering”, it was again rideable for the rest of the trip.

Second, during hubby’s absence, I was again charged with getting his truck to the dealer to have the A/C fixed. Again. Traffic to and from this area is often INSANE. Mission accomplished, though it wasn’t done until Saturday. Seems to really be fixed this time. Electrical problems suck.

I started a new baby blanket and have been working on it as much as I can. I need to get it done & shipped since the baby is already a month old! Anyone know if the year statute for wedding gifts applies to babies too? LOL

I came to the conclusion that we own WAY too many sheets. We have three sizes of beds: double that was hubby’s before we met, queen that we bought when we bought our home, and a King that we got when we got new bedroom furniture. Somehow, I’ve managed to collect twin stuff too!!! Seriously, I think the sheet nymphs brought it when I was out shopping for queen sheets one day. When possible, I’m keeping the minimal spare sheets near the appropriate bed. (I also got smart and marked the tags with a D, Q, or K to help me identify where they belong!)

I spent most of yesterday measuring sheets to determine which set went with which bed. Once I had that sorted, I had to decide what I was keeping and what I’m getting rid of. Also, I found a HUGE candle stash in the linen closet. I vaguely remember thinking that would be a good place to store them as it doesn’t get too hot, AND they will make the linens smell good. Not a bad idea assuming I remembered they were there. *rolleyes*

Next comes towels. We’ve collected a ton of towels too. For some reason, people gave us (and we accepted) regular sized bath towels. We both LOVE bath sheets. We really never use the standard bath towels. And I found a stash of kitchen towels. I went through them ALL and refolded everything and stacked it by size.ย  Add to this my few sets of extra sheets, some blankets, and tah-dah, I have TONS of space in my linen closet!!! I am going to use our towels like normal and after a while, I’ll donate the ones that don’t get touched.

It feels SO good to have this closet organized, but it feels even better to see empty space! Maybe this would be a good spot for my special holiday decorations?? (Look at me; the space isn’t even empty for 24 hours and I’m searching to fill it up!)

So now, with hubby on yet ANOTHER business trip, I wonder what kind of trouble I’ll get into?

12 Responses to My ADD Week

  1. redriverpak says:

    Sheet Nymphs….. Just by reading blogs I learn a new term to make my wife think I am going insane..Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ Next time I do laundry, I will hide the sheets and will tell her that the dreaded sheet mymphs must have taken them…… ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I really need to clean my linen closet. Whenever people come to visit, I open the dreaded closet and say “do you want wrinkly polka dot sheets” or a jammed set “of yellow ones” that I can’t find the pillow cases for because they are jammed in the back. I’m inspired…I have a week off of work and I’m going to tackle my closets. Thanks for the inspiration!!

  3. izziedarling says:

    You’ve done an excellent job – now can you come to my house and repeat?

  4. The Orifice says:

    Nice blog you have here. It’s strangely relaxing to read. Ahhhh

  5. Lori says:

    I have a post I’m planning about the towels in our house.

    Poor, abused, traumatized towels. I hope people won’t call Towel Protective Services upon us when I make my confessions.

    And I’m highly envious of your organized closets.

    envyenvyenvy

    • Thanks! I honestly never thought I would be considered “organized” in any way at home! And be nice to at least SOME of those towels – you might really need ’em! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. redriverpak says:

    OK Sis! Vacations over….time to get back to blogging! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

