This ‘n’ that

In case you were wondering, no, I’m not off house hunting in gated communities, which means, no, we did not win the lottery. I’ve been as sidetracked as ever. I have several posts started, but I’m waiting on something for all of ’em.

Hubby’s truck had to go back to the mechanic… again. So that left him without a vehicle for lunch. I went to pick him up, and we decided to celebrate Cinco de Mayo at one of our favorite little Mexican places. Shrimp tacos…. yuuuuum! Not exactly light on the calories, but hey, it’s a celebration! On the way back I saw the cutest little family. Wonder if they escaped? (He works in an animal friendly environment.)

I’m also planning a trip to see my mom & grandmother for mother’s day. It’s about an 8 hour drive and since I’m still out of work, I thought it would be really nice for them. (Ok, and for me too.) My grandmother (92) is advancing in her struggles with Alzheimer’s, and my grandfather has issues of his own including paranoia and confusion. I think much of that is due to the high number of pain pills he has to take – nearly all of his joints are worn out. Since he’s in his 90’s, either living with severe pain, or living in the haze of pain pills are his only choices. I really enjoyed hanging out with my mom & step-dad at Christmas, so this will be fun, I’m sure. Plus maybe this time I can see a couple people I’ve been missing on my last trips.

Finally, I have volunteered to work the 2010 NHL Entry Draft. I’m so excited that we (Los Angeles) are hosting the draft! I’ve often thought about volunteering for various Kings events, but I haven’t wanted to miss the event. The NHL is looking for volunteers two days prior to the start of the draft, so why not? I’m sure there’s all kinds of things that have to happen, that just about anyone can help with. Any maybe, just maybe, they’ll need my help in an area of my expertise – how much fun would that be!!??!! So wish me luck in being accepted as a volunteer because I really want to do it!

Leave a Reply

