Watching Weight

Ugh. Diets. Errr… “Lifestyle Changes”.

Image: The Cleaner

I’ve done Jenny Craig, Atkins, and Weight Watchers. Jenny Craig didn’t work for me because I didn’t like having to buy all that packaged food. It got expensive and I’m kinda picky so I ended up with the same few things over & over. Though I will credit that system with my discovery and resulting love for Orzo pasta. [Note: had to laugh – spell check wanted to change Orzo to “oreo”. Even technology is out to get me!]  Mmmm. That was about ten years ago and I still remember how good it was – it had a few black beans mixed in with some cheese! And the chocolate cakes. The way they were then reminds me a bit of the ones from Jack In The Box. (Yep, I know all the fast food goodies. I think my fave is the Oreo Pie from Burger King – TO DIE FOR!)  [Do you see why I’m in the mess I’m in?? Do ya?]  Anyway, so I’m not down with buying prepackaged food so NutriSystem and other similar deals are out.

Atkins – that worked out pretty well for me for a while. I dropped a ton of weight. Too bad I don’t like greasy stuff more. I have such a sweet tooth. And a carb tooth if there is such a thing. Boy did I pay if I cheated. But really, in the long run, how good for you can all that fat be? I was trying to LOSE the fat. Not ingest more of it. Besides, when someone says I can’t do or have something – I’m like so many others and immediately look for the forbidden “fruit” so to speak.

Weight Watchers. Also a bit pricey – especially when you factor in the cost of the extra “must haves” like the food scale, points calculators, food books, and so on. Thanks to the internet, and smart phones, I suppose it may be a bit easier now. I like the idea that you can have whatever food you want, and you can gain extra food points for excercise. I become RAVENOUS after workouts though. I can do a workout that will gain me 2 Activity Points, but need more than 2 points worth of food. Try 6-9. I wonder if that wears off after a while? Maybe my body is just freaking out because intense workouts are so foreign?

So what prompted all this? The other morning, hubby told me he wants to make changes in our eating habits. And it’s just that – habits. We have a habit of being lazy and eating out. Or I cook a healthy meal and either a) we eat double portions because it’s so good, b) we ruin it with dessert (Hi, Coldstone), or c) BOTH! He asked about the iPhone app for Weight Watchers. Yeah, I hear they have one, but we have Droids! I scoured around and found a couple apps for the Droid. One calculates points values for you, and the other is a list of food you scroll through. There’s no official Droid app yet.

So, our choices are to go to meetings, do it online, or both. Not sure what the meetings cost. The ability to do both is $10 more per month per person ($80 monthly investment for both of us). What I’m thinking is that maybe we sign up for a couple months (I lean toward online, but that’s just me) and see if we can lose some pounds. I have about 40 pounds to lose and so does he. I know there’s so many other people out there that have so much more to lose. We are quickly becoming those people. A couple years ago it was 20 pounds we wanted to lose. Then it became 25, 30, 35…. Give it more time and we’ll be on the Biggest Loser. Or in line for stomach surgery.

So, if that’s the plan, then I better start going through the cabinets. Good bye hot cocoa & marshmallows. Good bye cake mix & frosting. Good bye boxed mac & cheese. I had also better dig out the measuring cups, spoons and food scale. And I should find my inner zen because putting up with the over exuberant “nothing tastes as good as skinny feels” mantra for a maniacal meeting leader will really push my crazy button.

Leave a Reply

