Team In Training – Decision

So, a friend & I went to the Team In Training/Leukemia & Lymphoma Society office last week to pick up some information. I wrote about my indecision then, and have since decided now is not the right time for me to participate.

While there’s no doubt that this is a very worthwhile cause, there’s also no doubt that it would likely be quite expensive for me as an individual. I understand the costs involved – both from an operational/logistical standpoint in addition to the funds they want to raise for research. I’m not arguing that at all.

You see, to do the local 5K, with no hotel stay, the minimum donation amount is $1,800. By July. That’s just about 2 1/2 months. When you commit to doing a race, you’re also committing to personally securing the donation amount. I feel like I could reasonably collect $500 in donations, but to cough up the rest is just an unfathomable idea. I’m sure there are other things I can do to help the charities I feel strongly about. There’s always the Alzheimer’s Assn.’s Memory Walk. I could sponsor myself to walk in that. 🙂

So, unless our numbers for Friday’s 200+ Million lottery come up, I’m out. Maybe I’ll train at the gym and this time next year, I could be in shape to actually RUN a 5K. I don’t know why I’ve got this idea in my head now about becoming a runner. Anyone that knows me, knows that I won’t run unless I’m being chased. Maybe this is one of those plans that sounded better in my head?

Leave a Reply

