Ambition & Philanthropy

Recently, a friend of mine participated in the “Relay for Life.” I really wished I had been able to join her, however I had scheduling conflicts with the playoffs. A few years back, I did a few laps at a different RFL event, and have also walked in the Memory Walk. I have to wonder how much more awareness these walks actually generate? Also, I wonder if the money really gets where it should go.

Today I received a solicitation to join the Avon 2-Day Walk for breast cancer. I’ve thought about doing that before, but the walks themselves are far enough away and the dates aren’t usually workable. It got me thinking about Team In Training. While cancer in general pretty much touches everyone, blood cancers (especially those that affect kids) really get me. More so since my little cousin was diagnosed with it. We still don’t know for sure how he’ll do.  

So I understand Team In Training (TNT) actually trains you to walk/run/cycle/swim your event. There’s a half-marathon at Disneyland later this year. You can run or walk that. That sounds totally doable for me. The only thing is fundraising. I have no idea how much is required to participate. Also, I’m not sure I could do it. I know this shouldn’t stop me, but I can’t help but be fearful. (I’m really not a runner, though I would like to be.)

Do you have experience with TNT? Would you recommend them?

I’m thinking this might be a good way to get me more active while making strides for a good cause.

Leave a Reply

