Vet Visit

Our Little Princess

 

Also falling into the “my favorite things” category is my precious kitty, Moxie.  

She was found in the bushes, outside of the warehouse at the company I worked at several years ago. My husband was at Sturgis for the annual motorcycle rally, so I was home alone. All the other kitty lovers in the building couldn’t bring her home because they were “maxed out” on cats. So I offered to babysit her until we could find her a good home. After all, my hubby is allergic.  

So I brought this flea-bitten, mangy-eared baby home. I had to tell hubby that I was babysitting. He was NOT pleased. She slept on the pillow, next to my head all night. She purred so loudly that it kept me awake (and I am basically a professional sleeper). Off to work the next day, but thankfully, I was only a few miles away so I could come visit at lunch. By the time my hubby called to check in the second night, his first words were “What did you name your cat?” Awww…. he knows me.  

So we decided we would keep her on a trial, and if he couldn’t breathe, we’d find her a new home. Thankfully, he’s been fine. She has brought us a lot of joy and laughter! Seven years later, she is still fat & happy along with us.  

The Princess - post bath

 

 So today marks a visit to the vet. She is fearful of strangers, and has a terrible time with vets. She has been tagged as an aggressive girl, so the first thing they want to do is knock her out. Since I’m not working, I decide to tell them that I will stay with her, rather than drop her off and leave her. Before, we sometimes had no choice, and it broke my heart to dump her off for a day in a cold, sterile vet’s office. In honor of the visit, as well as the super-hot weather we’ve been having, she got a bath yesterday. (She really does well. She just hates getting into the tub.)  

My “ace in the hole” is a kitty straight jacket my mom got me/Moxie. It’s basically a nylon bag with a bunch of zippers to access limbs. Good thing Mox likes bags!

As it turns out, either my psycho kitty has mellowed or this vet has the magic touch. Poor baby had her temp taken and I thought she was going to freak. After that, it was smooth sailing. Honestly, I think the difference was that I was there with her so she didn’t feel abandoned. And great news – even though she’s still a bit on the plump side, she lost a pound and moved into the “average weight” category. The vet would like to see her lose just a bit more, but her health’s not in any danger.  

Even though she cried the whole way there, she was quiet on the way home. Probably still traumatized by the temp reading. In the end it’s worth it for the peace of mind, knowing she’s healthy & vaccinated.

Leave a Reply

