Simplify

With time on my hands during this period of unemployment, you would think I have been able to completely simplify my life. Not so. In truth, I am envious of those living simply. I figure if I put all this down in black & white, I will become much more accountable.

Celebrating successes in simplification include:

  1. Learning to use my sewing machine. I have hand-made three things so far, and have plans for many other projects. I have also mended a pair of pants and my favorite reusable cloth bag.
  2. Improving in the kitchen. I am learning to COOK. Not just follow a recipe, but actually cook. Not saying I’m that good, but I am considerably less afraid. I have also dramatically increased our veggie intake.
  3. Less TV during the day, and more movement. This includes the mundane (vaccuuming) and fun (walking borrowed dogs, gym)

Immediate goals for additional simplification include:

  1. Cooking more meals from scratch. This includes having a plan for meals. (Yikes – thinking ahead!!)
  2. Staying on top of little chores, on a regular basis.
  3. Even less TV during the day.
  4. Remembering my cool Envirosax (thanks Mary Beth!) or other reusable bags when going out.

Future, bigger goals for simplification include:

  1. Clearing major clutter from our home.
  2. Growing some of our own fruits & veggies. (I have a bit of a black thumb, so this may not be realistic.)
  3. Finding ways to buy less “stuff.” (Resulting in money, space and sanity saved.)

Are you attempting to simplify your life? Have you achieved success? Or are you enjoying living in the “material world?”

Any time I think about simplification, this song always pops in my head. (Yes, I know it’s not necessarily about simplifying, but I love it all the same.) “Amen” by Kid Rock (from the album Rock’n’Roll Jesus). I love the “simplify, testify, identify, rectify” line.  It’s a reminder to be thankful for what we have, and do what we can to keep our world a good place.

It’s another night in hell
Another child won’t live to tell
Can you imagine what it’s like to starve to death

And as we sit free and well
Another soldier has to yell
Tell my wife and children I love them in his last breath

C’mon now amen, amen, amen

Habitual offenders, scumbag lawyers with agendas
I’ll tell you sometimes people I don’t know what’s worse
Natural disasters or these wolves in sheep clothes pastors
Now damn it I’m scared to send my children to church
And how can we seek salvation when our nations race relations
Got me feeling guilty of being white
But faith in human nature, our creator and our savior, I’m no saint
But I believe in what is right

C’mon now amen, amen
I said amen, amen

Stop pointing fingers and take some blame,
Pull your future away from the flame
Open up your mind and start to live
Stop short changing your neighbors
Living off hand outs and favors, and maybe
Give a little bit more than you got to give

Simplify, testify, identify, rectify
And if I get high stop being so uptight
It’s only human nature and I am not a stranger
So baby won’t you stay with me tonight

2 Responses to Simplify

  1. […] Check In Well, it’s s been a couple weeks since my first post about simplifying my life and the goals I wrote. I figured now’s a good time to check in and see how I’m […]

  2. Yes! Finally someone writes about sewa elf di bali.

Leave a Reply

