Why?

Why a blog?

Sometimes Facebook and Twitter just don’t get it done. I feel like many of my followers and friends probably don’t want to see everything I want to talk about. I know some of my friends are totally over my hockey addiction. Plus, I want to expand on those thought. Also, I want to keep a journal of little life events.  I want a place where I can post my thoughts and opinions without apology. Too bad if you don’t agree! Life would be soooo boring if we were all the same. Additionally, I’ve enjoyed the communities within Facebook and Twitter, and have seen (from the outside) the community in the blogging world. I like people, so why not meet more to like?!

Why the name “Bitten By Reality”?

I have always loved the title of the movie “Reality Bites” – because oftentimes it does! I find humor in life’s annoyances. And if I can’t laugh, I figure it this will be a great place to rant. For example, today I realized someone stole our “no soliciting” sign from our front door. Who DOES that? Solicitors? It was pretty cool – it was more than just a “no soliciting” sign.  And there I go… off on a tangent. I know I have a tendency towards ADD. Let’s check it out & see where it takes us!

Why now?

What took me so long to jump on the blog-wagon, you mean? I have followed a few blogs for some time, but I wondered who would care about what I have to say? After much thought, it turns out I don’t care who cares. I was laid off in September ’09 and need to keep my writing skills sharp. (The experience from a marketing standpoint is also a huge bonus.) Plus, it’s a challenge. Now that I’m off work, I’m faced with few strong challenges. (What’s for dinner? How do I make my sewing machine function? Can I overcome my fear of spiders? Can I handle the traffic to Staples Center multiple times a week?) It is a way for me to embrace my IMperfect life!

So, that’s what this little corner of the web is all about. Hit me up – I would love to hear from anyone reading this!

2 Responses to Why?

  1. sportsjim81 says:

    Just came across your blog on “The Idiot”s blogroll. I enjoyed reading several of your posts and I especially like your about page. I, too, asked myself if anyone would care what I had to say if I decided to say it…but once I began, it opened up a whole new world. So many people willing to share ideas and stories with perfect strangers. I just love it. Hope you’ll check out my story when you get a chance.

  2. Hi, thanks for stopping in. I have been terribly neglecting this blog! With my new job, and hockey season in full swing, I found that it felt like work and that was totally NOT what it is about. Heading over to your place for a visit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

